Join us this evening February 4, 2019 at 7:00 pm CST

5:00 pm PST…6:00 pm MST…7:00 pm CST…8:00 pm EST

Listen Live → HERE!

Call in number 917-388-4520

Hit #1 immediately when Blogtalk answers to speak to the host.

Hosted by Marti Oakley

With Tanya Hathaway, Luanne Fleming, Robin Austin

All shows are archived and available 24/7 so you can listen at your convenience.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Our guest is Rachel Hammond. a free lance investigative journalist who has been investigating the corruption in Michigan probate courts, most especially in the Detroit area. Recently, Rachel was advised that she was in serious danger as a result of her investigation, and took precautions to protect herself and her team. One of those precautions was to leave her apartment indefinitely and to sublease it out until she was out of danger and could safely return.

My source at the Probate Court reached out to me yesterday to let me know that I am now in considerable danger. They did not specify what “danger” entails: an attempt to discredit me before the story is published, the use of the Oakland County Sheriffs to concoct a reason to throw me behind bars (a tactic already used on a rather outspoken activist) or something quite worse. A physical attack was not ruled out. The point is, they have had quite enough of me and, if this were any other time, one might easily laugh it off.”

In a strange turn of events, in Rachel’s absence, the person subletting her apartment was found dead inside the unit. Currently, it is unknown what the cause of death was. Is it simply a strange coincidence? Or a case of mistaken identity? Join us as we talk with Rachel about her current situation and what her plans are as she moves ahead.

Rachel Hammond bio:

Gretchen
A native of Manchester England, Gretchen Rachel Hammond got her start in media at 12 years old providing character voices on, then, Piccadilly Radio/Key 103 FM before moving on to producing overnight programming. She arrived in the United States at age 18 as part of a foreign exchange program. Hammond has since worked as a screenwriter, film critic for FOX 59 and WXNT radios in Indianapolis and as a development officer for nonprofit theatres, social justice and educational organizations. She spent four years as a senior reporter for Windy City Times in Chicago. Her investigative pieces and features led to four consecutive annual state Lisagor Award nominations and a win in 2015. In 2016 she was honored by the National Lesbian and Gay Journalists Association (NLGJA) for her investigative piece on LGBT detainees held in Immigration Customs Enforcement (ICE) facilities. In 2017, Hammond broke the story of three Jewish women who were asked to leave a Chicago Pride event after they were spotted by organizers carrying a Pride flag emblazoned with the Star of David. The story and subsequent fallout to Hammond personally made international headlines. In August of that year, she was hired by the Jewish online magazine Tablet for a specially-funded one-year fellowship. Outside of her work, Hammond organized an LGBTQ job fair in Chicago for two years, serves on Chicago nonprofit boards and, in 2017, donated a kidney to a reader of the Windy City Times. Hammond is presently a freelance investigative journalist.